By Sarah Stevenson

Ever wonder what all this talk about Chakras is lately? Well we are here to give you the 101 on what they are and how you can better understand and balance. Our most popular Lava pieces are the chakra bracelets so here is what they are and how you can focus and balance them with our jewelry.

The concept of Chakra originated in Hindu texts, featured in tantric and yogic traditions of Hinduism and Buddhism. Its name derives from the Sanskrit word for “wheel” or “turning”. Chakra refers to wheel-like vortices, which, according to traditional Indian medicine, are believed to exist in the surface of the subtle body of living beings. These “force centers/ chakras” permeate energy from a particular spot in the body. The 7 chakras are each focal points that receive and transmit energy. In order for one to be balanced physically, emotionally and spiritually these 7 centers must remain in balance. It is then our life work to continually check in with these centers.



Root Chakra

Physical Location - base of the spine

Purposes - kinesthetic feelings, movement

Spiritual Lesson - material world lessons

Physical Dysfunctions- lower back pain, sciatica, varicose veins, rectal tumors, depression, immune related disorders

Mental and Emotional Issues - survival, self esteem, social order, security, family

Information Stored Inside Root Chakra - familial beliefs, superstitions, loyalty, instincts, physical pleasure or pain, touch

Area of Body Governed - spinal column, kidneys, legs, feet, rectum, immune system



Sacral Chakra

Physical Location - Lower abdomen to the navel

Purposes - Emotional connection

Spiritual Lesson - Creativity, manifestation. Honoring relationships, learning to "let go"

Physical Dysfunctions- Low back pain, sciatica, ob/gyn problems, pelvic pain, libido, urinary problems

Mental and Emotional Issues - Blame, guilt, money, sex, power, control, creativity, morality

Information Stored Inside Sacral Chakra - Duality, magnetism, controlling patterns, emotional feelings (joy, anger, fear)

Area of Body Governed - Sexual organs, stomach, upper intestines, liver, gallbladder, kidney, pancreas, adrenal glands, spleen, middle spine


Solar Plexus Chakra

Purposes- Mental understanding of emotional life

Spiritual Lesson- Self-love and acceptance

Physical Dysfunctions- Stomach ulcers, intestinal tumors, diabetes, pancreatitis, indigestion, anorexia/bulimia, hepatitis, cirrhosis, adrenal imbalances, arthritis, colon diseases

Mental and Emotional Issues- Self esteem, fear of rejection, oversensitivity to criticism, self-image fears, fears of our secrets being found out, indecisiveness

Information Stored Inside Sacral Chakra- Personal power, personality, consciousness of self within the universe (sense of belonging), knowing

Area of Body Governed- Upper abdomen, umbilicus to rib cage, liver, gallbladder, middle spine, spleen, kidney, adrenals, small intestines, stomach



Heart Chakra

Physical Location- Center of chest

Purposes- Emotional empowerment

Spiritual Lesson- Forgiveness, unconditional love, letting go, trust, compassion

Physical Dysfunction’s- Heart conditions, asthma, lung & breast cancers, thoracic spine, pneumonia, upper back, shoulder problems

Mental and Emotional Issues- Love, compassion, confidence, inspiration, hope, despair, hate, envy, fear, jealousy, anger, generosity

Information Stored Inside Heart Chakra- Connections to those whom we love

Area of Body Governed- Heart, circulatory system, blood, lungs, rib cage, diaphragm, thymus, breasts, esophagus, shoulders, arms, hands

Throat Chakra

Physical Location- Throat, neck region

Purposes - Learning to take responsibility for one's own needs

Spiritual Lesson- Confession, surrender personal will over to divine will, faith, and truthfulness over deceit

Physical Dysfunctions- Sore throat, mouth ulcers, scoliosis, swollen glands, thyroid dysfunctions, laryngitis, voice problems, gum or tooth problems, TMJ

Mental and Emotional Issues - Personal expression, creativity, addiction, criticism, faith, decision making, will, lack of authority

Information Stored Inside Throat Chakra- Self-knowledge, truth, attitudes, hearing, taste, smell



Third Eye Chakra

Physical Location - Center of the forehead

Purposes- Action of ideas, insight, mind development

Spiritual Lesson- Understanding, reality checkpoint, detachment, open mind

Physical Dysfunctions- Brain tumors, strokes, blindness, deafness, seizures, learning disabilities, spinal dysfunctions, panic, depression

Mental and Emotional Issues- Fear of truth, discipline, judgment, evaluation, emotional intelligence, concept of reality, confusion

Information Stored Inside Sacral Chakra- Seeing clear picture (symbolic or literal), wisdom, intuition, mental facilities, intellect

Area of Body Governed- Brain, neurological system, eyes, ears, nose, pituitary, pineal glands


Crown Chakra

Physical Location- Top of head

Purposes- Intuitive knowing, connection to one's spirituality, integration of the whole

Spiritual Lesson- Spirituality, living in the NOW

Physical Dysfunction’s- Mystical depression, diseases of the muscular system, skeletal system and the skin, chronic exhaustion not associated with physical ailments, sensitivity to light, sound, environment

Mental and Emotional Issues- Discovery of the divine, lack of purpose, loss of meaning or identity, trust, selflessness, humanitarianism, ability to see the bigger picture in the life stream, devotion, inspiration, values, ethics

Information Stored Inside Crown Chakra- Duality, magnetism, controlling patterns, emotional feelings (joy, anger, fear)
Each time you would like to focus your attention upon your chakras simply wear one of our chakra lava bracelets. We have several styles you can choose from. Our most popular is the delicate 4mm chakra bracelet. If you would like to focus on just one chakra at a time, we also make bracelets with only one chakra. Place a few drops of your favorite essential oil on the lava beads and you will be swept away into a calm, serene mindset. Your chakras will be balanced in no time at all.